Multilinguist and proud mum, Sourma brings valuable skills to our advisor team.  Passionate about supporting people of different cultural and ethnic backgrounds to better their lives, she’s looking forward to extending our Livewell programme in the Normanton area and doing things a bit differently.  As a keen cook of Bengali Cuisine, we’re confident she’ll be popular amongst her food loving teammates too!

Experience

Prior to Livewell, I worked in the voluntary sector for over 20 years with a particular focus on domestic violence within ethnically diverse communities. The move to Livewell represents a complete career change for me and one that I am thoroughly enjoying!

I hope it serves as a reminder to people that you can change course whether it’s work, health or fitness at any stage in your life.  You are never too old to try something new!

Job role

As a Livewell Advisor I deliver healthy lifestyle sessions including exercise and healthy eating to ethnically diverse communities in and around the Normanton area.  Sessions are often culturally specific and tailored to meet the needs of the people I am working with.

Me in 3 words

Friendly, supportive and chatty.

My favourite meal

Bengali roast chicken as it always reminds me of home and my mum’s cooking.

My interests

Family plays a very important role in my life. I have an 11-year-old daughter who has just started secondary school so a lot my spare time is spent being her taxi driver to various activities!

When I do get some down time, I really enjoy cooking and finding new recipes to try on my family. It helps me to relax after a busy day as well as allowing me time to collect my thoughts when I am feeling particularly anxious or overwhelmed.

Food has always played a big part in my life.  Coming from a Bangladeshi background, it has always been a way of bringing together family and friends.  Over the last few years, I have been trying to learn as many traditional Bengali recipes as I can from my parents.  Many of these recipes have now become favorites within my own home.

My best achievement

For me this must be having my daughter.  She is my world, and I can’t imagine my life without her.

What you might be surprised to hear about me

I speak four languages including English, Bengali, Urdu and some Spanish.  These language skills often come in handy when delivering sessions in the community.  In fact, the first language I learnt was Bengali.  It wasn’t until I started school at the age of 4 that I learnt to speak English!

Top lifestyle tips

Make sure you are getting enough sleep!

If you’re not sleeping properly, your body will need more energy because it’s awake for longer. As a result, you’re more likely to overeat and choose foods that are high in calories later in the day. Getting enough sleep could help you to maintain a healthy weight.

Favourite quote

You never fail until you stop trying. (Albert Einstein)

 

Sourma with her family